Uploading an Existing World to Your Valheim Server

Valheim
Create a Valheim Server today!
Start Free Trial

This article will show you how you can upload your existing Valheim world to your dedicated server.

World File Location

First, locate your world data. The default location for the save data on Windows is: C:\Users\(Your PC Username)\AppData\LocalLow\IronGate\Valheim\worlds_local.

You will need to create a .zip file of all of the files associated with the world you created. The particular world that we will be using in this guide is the one called "NodecraftServer".

Client file location of Valheim Worlds highlighting the NodecraftServer world exampleIf your world files aren't there, make sure your world save is stored locally instead of in the cloud. This can be done in the Manage Saves screen in the Main Menu.

Valheim Manage Saves UI highlighting Move to Local Button

Upload Your World

Upload the zip file you just made to the "Server Files" section of the Nodecraft Pro panel in the location: /.config/unity3d/IronGate/Valheim/worlds_local.

Select the zip file and click on the "Unzip" button.

A view of unzipping an uploaded Valheim world to Nodecraft Pro

Change Server Settings

Now we need to tell the server to use the world we just uploaded. There are two ways you can do this.

Using the Nodecraft Panel

In the "Game Settings" section in your panel, go to the World tab, and change the "World Name" field to the name of your world. You'll need to match the name of the file exactly.

A screenshot of the Nodecraft server control panel setting for

Save your changes and Start your server. You'll be using your world on your dedicated server!

Using a Startup Argument

If you're using the Nodecraft panel, you do NOT need to do this step. This step is only useful if you're hosting the server elsewhere, and not with with Nodecraft.
The argument you will use is:

-world "Your World Name"

Converting Worlds for Version 1.0

Worlds changed with Valheim version 1.0 released in 2026. To transfer an older single player world to a newer server, it is essential to transfer the save file to a local save, from a cloud save, in the Manage Saves screen. This will ensure the world folders contain the necessary files before uploading.

Need Help?

If you have questions or run into any issues, our support team is here to help! Reach out using the support widget on our website or visit our support center for further assistance.